New Year, Big Goals: 2024 Reading Challenges

Published by

on

Happy New Year! As this is the first full year of Book Sense and Beyond, I will be participating in a couple of 2024 Reading Challenges. For this first year, I have decided to do three different challenges that vary from broad goals (The Goodreads Reading Challenge) to specific. Below, all three of my challenges/goals are outlined with rules and my plan if needed by the challenge. 

  1. The Goodreads Reading Challenge

Every year, Goodreads allows you to set a personal goal of how many books you will read that year. For 2024, I have decided to read at least 35 books by the end of the year. You can track your goal there and if you would like to follow me along my reading journey, you can add me on Goodreads here.

2.  The Backlist Reader Challenge 2024 by The Bookwyrm’s Hoard

The Backlist Reader Challenge is designed to challenge readers to knock down their To-Be-Read (TBR) list. For 2024, I am challenging myself to finish a good chunk of the physical books I have never read. Listed below is every book I have as a physical copy that I have not read yet or did read and it has been almost a decade. Almost all of these books were bought in high school, so I am excited to see how my taste in books has changed and finally read these books!

Matched by Allie Condie

Crossed by Allie Condie

Reached by Allie Condie

Switched by Amanda Hocking

Torn by Amanda Hocking

Ascend by Amanda Hocking

The Luxe by Anna Godbersen

Rumors by Anna Godbersen

Envy by Anna Godbersen

Ignite by Lily Paradis

Black Enough: Stories of Being Young & Black in America Edited by Ibi Zoboi

Black Girls Must Die Exhausted by Jayne Allen

Black Girls Must Be Magic by Jaynthi Allen

UnSlut: A Diary and a Memoir by Emily Lindin

Placebo Junkies by J.C. Carleson

Parallel by Lauren Miller

The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Doon by Carey Corp and Lorie Langdon

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

This Ordinary Life by Jennifer Walkup

The Rules by Stacey Kade

Recovery Road by Blake Nelson

Hate List by Jennifer Brown

3.  2024 Raising a Bookworm

This is a personal goal of mine for my son! For every book I buy for myself, whether it be physical or on my Kindle, I will buy my son a new book he does not have on his bookshelf. If anyone has any recommendations for books for toddlers, please send them! I am looking for diverse representation and creative themes.

Other than my reading goals, I am looking forward to being more interactive on social media and Book Sense and Beyond. If anyone is interested in sharing ideas or starting a virtual book club, please feel free to reach out! Let me know in the comments what challenges you are participating in!

2 responses to “New Year, Big Goals: 2024 Reading Challenges”

  1. Leslie @ Mama Needs a Book Avatar

    I love your idea for adding books to your son’s bookshelf! Little People, Big Dreams books are a good choice and I know at least some of them come in board books.

    Happy reading!

    https://mamaneedsabook.blogspot.com/2024/01/the-backlist-reader-challenge-2024.html

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Madison - Book Sense Beyond Avatar
      Madison – Book Sense Beyond

      Thank you for your recommendation! I will definitely be adding that to our list!

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started